Awards 2019-07-02T13:49:49-05:00

The Ivy College of Business is proud to honor the exceptional work of our dedicated students, faculty, staff, alumni, and friends. Our college-level awards recognize members of the Ivy community who have gone above and beyond in demonstrating excellence in student engagement and impact, involvement in alumni activities, volunteer and community service, or outstanding research and teaching performance.

Ivy College of Business Awards

All Ivy College of Business Award nominations can be submitted via electronic or hard copy to Monica Sasse (sasse@iastate.edu) in the Dean’s Suite (2200 Gerdin) by March 8. Each nomination must include an Ivy College of Business Cover Sheet and other required materials. The college awards are presented in April at the Ivy College of Business Faculty and Staff Awards Ceremony, sponsored by the Dean’s Advisory Council.

AwardDue Date
Tenure-Eligible/Tenured Faculty Outstanding Achievement in Teaching Award3/8 Annually
Tenure-Eligible/Tenured Faculty Early Achievement in Teaching Award3/8 Annually
Tenure-Eligible/Tenured Faculty Outstanding Achievement in Research Award3/8 Annually
Tenure-Eligible/Tenured Faculty Mid-Career Achievement in Research Award3/8 Annually
Tenure-Eligible/Tenured Faculty Early Achievement in Research Award3/8 Annually
Research Impact Award3/8 Annually
Non-Tenure Eligible Faculty Superior Service in Teaching Award3/8 Annually
Non-Tenure Eligible Faculty Early Achievement in Teaching Award3/8 Annually
Staff Superior Service Award3/8 Annually
Staff Student Impact Award3/8 Annually
Outstanding New Professional Award3/8 Annually
Inclusion Excellence Award3/8 Annually

Ivy Women in Business Awards

The Ivy College of Business presented four Ivy Women in Business Awards during a special event on March 27, 2019. These awards celebrate women in business, and their champions, and serve as an opportunity to inspire young women in college as they prepare for a bright future in business.

2019 Award Winners

Champion Award

 Leslie Buttorff, Quintel-MC
Greenwood Village, Colorado

From her nominator: “She has a sustained record of intentionally mentoring and promoting women in her company and at companies where she had leadership positions.”

Champion Award


From their nominator: “Principal is committed to ensuring pay equity and offering employees work-life balance through flexible work schedules, parental leave and an onsite childcare facility.”


Inspiration Award

Kate Banasiak, Diversified Management Services
Des Moines, Iowa

From her nominator: “Kate’s incredible drive launched her into a leadership role early in her career. While this would be a tremendous feat for anyone, Kate saw the window for opportunity and rose to the occasion.”

Outstanding Young Alumna Award

Emily Schmitt, Sukup Manufacturing Co.
Sheffield, Iowa

From her nominator: “Emily is committed to helping the next generation and in 2012, she was responsible for launching the Sukup intern program. That has now grown from two to almost 60 interns who are trained at one of Iowa’s most successful manufacturing companies.”

2018 Winners

Champion Award

Luann K. Rickert
Deere & Company

From her nominator: “Luann is focused on helping all employees be successful and reach their full potential, but has been specifically focused on underrepresented populations within her company.”

Inspiration Award

Christina Moffatt
Creme Cupcake

From her nominator: “Her greatest joy is seeing others succeed in what they were meant to do with their lives.”

Outstanding Young Alumna Award

Kelli J. Schmidt

From her nominator: “Bottom line, Kelli is the go-to person for our female professionals as they plan their careers and families.”

Dean’s Student Awards

AwardDue Date
Dean’s Student Leadership Award3/30 Annually
Dean’s Student Inspiration Award3/30 Annually

PhD Student Awards

Graduate College Teaching Excellence Award

2019Shuang (Sophie) Zhai
2018Prabhjot Singh
2018Fei (Sophie) Song
2018Sina Amiri
2018Akmal Mirsadikov
2016Inmyung Choi
2016Melika Kordrostami
2014Manjul Gupta
2014Akshaya Vijayalakshmi
2013Andy Luse
2013Arunachalam Swaminathan
2012David Correll

Graduate College Research Excellence Award

2019Prabhjot Singh
2019Amin Rostami

Rama and Sridhar Ramaswami Marketing Research Excellence Award

2019Amin Rostami
2018Pushpinder Gill
2017Pushpinder Gill
2016Russell Lemken
2015Akshaya Vijayalakshmi

Research Excellence Award

2019Shuang (Sophie) Zhai
2017Xinxue (Shawn) Qu
2016Akmal Mirsadikov
2015Saurabh Ambulkar

Previous Awards

Outstanding Doctoral Student Research Award

2018Xinxue (Shawn) Qu

Awards for Alumni and Friends

Ivy College of Business Awards
Citation of Achievement Award Established in 1985, this award honors distinguished alumni who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in life beyond the campus.
Russ and Ann Gerdin Award Established in 2009, this award honors contributions from valuable corporate partners or individuals who are not Ivy College of Business graduates.
John D. DeVries Service Award Established in 1985 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated outstanding service to the Ivy College of Business.
ISU Alumni Association AwardsUniversity Due Date 
Alumni Medal2/15 Annually
Alumni Merit Award2/15 Annually
Alumni Service Award2/15 Annually
Impact Award2/15 Annually
James A. Hopson Alumni Volunteer Award2/15 Annually
Outstanding Young Alumni Award2/15 Annually
Distinguished Alumni Award8/1 Annually
Honorary Alumni Award8/1 Annually
Faculty/Staff Inspiration Award12/1 Annually
Iowa STATEment MAKERS12/1 Annually
Wallace E. Barron All University Senior Award12/1 Annually