Dean’s Student Award winners and nominees announced

David Spalding, Raisbeck Endowed Dean awarded two Ivy College of Business seniors on May 5.

Sean Hamilton and Dean Spalding

Sean Hamilton and Dean Spalding

The first award winner is Sean Hamilton, who received the Dean’s Student Leadership Award. This award is intended for students who model leadership beyond a single department or a student organization while demonstrating outstanding leadership in one or more major college-wide, university, community, or professional organizations.

A senior from Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Sean is proud to be a third-generation Cyclone. For the last three years, Hamilton has worked at CyBIZ Lab, a consulting position where cross-functional teams of undergraduate and graduate students work with large corporations, start-ups, and the Ivy College of Business to help them solve real business problems. This year Hamilton was the president of the Entrepreneurship Club and led 10 students from three colleges to the annual Collegiate Entrepreneurs Organization conference in Tampa, Florida. This involved raising over $2,000, arranging conference registration, and planning travel details. In the fall, Hamilton can be found on the football field playing sousaphone in the marching band. This April, Hamilton was recognized as one of the charter members of the new Sigma Nu Tau Entrepreneurship Honor Society. In addition to these activities, Hamilton was a part of the Entrepreneurship and Innovation Learning Community, the Catholic Student Community, Tau Beta Sigma, and participated in several business case competitions.

Hamilton hopes to stay in Iowa working for a start-up or non-profit working to make processes more efficient and helpful to all those in need. “When interacting with others, he is known to always have a smile on his face and a kind word to those he meets,” wrote his nominator.

Madi Forseth and Dean Spalding

Madi Forseth and Dean Spalding

The second award winner is Madi Forseth, who received the Dean’s Student Inspiration Award. Created in 2018, the Ivy College of Business Dean’s Student Inspiration Award recognizes seniors who have been an inspiration to others in the college or the community. The chosen remarkable student inspires others through academics, community involvement, or by overcoming obstacles in their life that could have easily kept them from succeeding.

A senior from Sioux Falls, South Dakota who is a first-generation college student, Forseth has worked at Ivy all four years of college, holding roles of student assistant and marketing intern. “Madi has such a memorable personality, strong dedication to all of her involvements and makes a positive impression on everyone she meets at Iowa State University and the Ivy College of Business,” her nominator wrote.

In addition to her part-time position with the Ivy College of Business, Forseth has been involved in community events that bring joy and inspiration to others. During her time at Iowa State, she raised more than $1,000 for organizations around the world, contributed more than 500 hours of community service, and helped save over 10,000 lives during her time volunteering for the Iowa State Blood Drive. She is a proud member of the following organizations: Promo Crew Iowa State Athletics, Delta Zeta Sorority, Collegiate Panhellenic Council, Iowa State Blood Drive, Marketing Club, Sports Business Club, and Dance Marathon.

Forseth hopes to live in a metropolitan city while working in marketing or philanthropy after graduation. With experience on various boards in the community, she is passionate about organizations at Iowa State.

We would also like to recognize all of the students who were nominated for awards: Yonting Goh, Annette Marsalli, Megan Johansen, Claire Rogowski, Madison Uhl, Elisa Chau, Jenna Tolle, Miza Ahmad Ridzuan, Madison Benson, and Ashley Wolter.

The Office of the Dean selected these chosen award winners.  The recipients received a medallion during a special presentation with Raisbeck Endowed Dean David Spalding and will be recognized during the college convocation ceremony on May 13.